Progress & Report Card: T2 Nine Green Pack, Part 3

 

Sencha Quince, image courtesy of T2.

Well, I finally did it. All nine teas of the T2 green tea sampler have been tasted and tested. It took just under a month, which sounds ridiculous, really, but when that time includes a horrendous cold and the endless struggle to find a quiet moment, maybe it’s not so bad after all. In case you need to refresh your memory, or if you’re just joining me now, here are parts 1 and 2 of my reviews.

Marrakech: This is Gunpowder, Moroccan style with mint. And again, I was a bit surprised that I liked this. I steeped it in the glass gaiwan as I did with the original Gunpowder so I could have the pleasure of watching the pellets open up to create the golden liquid. I also happened to have this after a particularly unhealthy meal in the hopes that the peppermint essence would comfort my unhappy stomach. I’d like to think it did, and rather quickly too, as I was feeling much better by the time of my second cup. I was able to get three good steeps out of the leaves. Maybe I could have gotten more, but a child started calling so my peaceful teatime had to come to an end. It was a couple of weeks ago though, so I can’t quite remember if I thought then the leaves would hold up to a fourth steep. Guess I’ll have to try that again. What was unusual was both the freshness of mint and the subtle smokiness of the Gunpowder combining in my mouth. It wasn’t a battle, but more like a swirling dance of aroma and sensation.
Sencha Quince: I didn’t know what to expect with this tea. I already knew it was a favorite amongst T2′s flavored green teas. But I have a longstanding passion for all things peach, and maybe I just felt a bit jealous for the Sencha Peach that it got left out of this pack in favor of the Quince. This was certainly pretty when dry though, both in appearance and scent. Lovely leaves of brilliant green sencha with beautiful blue cornflowers and gorgeous purple mallow flowers. There was a floral scent on top of vanilla, but the vanilla note could have simply come from the Sencha Vanilla that was also in the larger tin containing all the samples. In any case, these were closely followed by the scent of sweet-tart fruit, all on a background of the fresh sencha. It was fascinating to be able to notice one scent passing on to the next, creating the entire scent profile. And while all these scents are strong in their own right, I never once felt overpowered by any of them or by their combination. It just all seemed so natural. The steeped tea was all of these scents in the same order, but the florals were more muted and the aromas overall were gentler. I could see myself picking up this one in the shop for my stash if it wasn’t for…
Gorgeous Geisha: Now this one is T2′s most popular flavored green tea, and no questions about that here! Let me stick this little disclaimer in first before I get to the review: I really wanted to find an unflavored tea from this pack to make my stand-by green tea. I’ve liked all of them, but maybe I’m just not enough of a purist to really choose one over some of the great flavored varieties that T2 does so well. Or maybe I just haven’t found my straight green tea yet. Now back to Gorgeous Geisha… WOW! Charlotte has learned to come running every time I open a tin of tea, calling out, “Smell! Smell!” This time I really joined her. Sharp, sweet strawberries hit you first, with just a spot of cream and then even less of the sencha bringing up the rear. This both excited and dismayed me. I want to take this tea tasting thing seriously, but then there are these flavors and blends that smell so good. They just don’t necessarily smell like tea, and that doesn’t make it sound like I’m all that serious. But when the tea is steeped, the fears step aside. Now all the flavors take the stage, brilliantly singing their parts. Still the sweetest strawberries begin the song, softly supported by the cream, not too much, just giving the right amount harmony. And in saunters the sencha, providing the baritone (if green tea could be allowed to sing those lower notes). They all take their turns seamlessly, and well after the sip the aromas continue to sing more combined than before, like one of the great swelling pieces in a good opera: each performer singing a different story yet intertwining with their stage companions. Have I waxed lyrical enough?

There you have it. I wasn’t sure I’d be a fan of green tea, but I took a shot anyway. I’m glad I did. I have found teas that are great with meals, teas that soothe, and teas that just make you feel like you’re having a treat. And when it’s with the goodness of green tea, well, that really is a treat.

About Devvy

Mom to a running, yelling, laughing toddler girl and a bouncing baby boy. I'm not anything even remotely close to the much-hyped "Supermom" and I don't expect that to change.

Posted on August 23, 2012, in Reviews, Tea and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

