Longbourn Wedding Tea by Bingley’s Teas

Longbourn Wedding Tea,
image courtesy of Bingley’s Teas.

My mom sent me this as a gift that she included with the box of teas from Adagio I asked her to send over for me. Coincidently, I had just got her a gift of wonderfully named Jane Austen Mafia tea from Adagio (and a bag for myself as well). In the end, we both had two Jane Austen-themed teas from two different companies. A couple of Jane Austen tragics? Yes, I do believe so.

Now don’t get me wrong. I wouldn’t order any tea, regardless of its theme or namesake, if I didn’t think it would taste good. It just so happens that the people who developed either of these blends have very good taste (as, of course, most Jane Austen lovers do).

Longbourn Wedding Tea is part of the Jane Austen Tea Series created by Bingley’s Teas. Yes, the company is named after the affable friend of Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice, but they mainly do non-Austen themed, regular teas. They just extended their love of all things Austen by procuring and/or creating a few particular teas for this series. This tea is a blend of silver needles and pai mu tan white teas with champagne, raspberries (which I think are in the form of raspberry leaves here) and beautiful whole rosebuds. It really is something to marvel at in the dry form. And all the sweet scents of white grapes, berries and roses leap at you in all states of the tea: the dry and wet leaves, as well as the steeped liquid. In the cup, it’s a beautiful sunshine yellow. I haven’t seen a tea like it before. As sweet as all of it sounds, it’s not overwhelming, at least not to me, but I am a Southern girl. All the aromas linger well after the last sip, and I do just feel like I’ve given myself a beautiful evening, even in the midst of the remnants of the day’s chaos.

Even if this wasn’t part of the Jane Austen Tea Series, by the look of the tea, it still begs to be named after a beautiful celebration of some sort. All of the sensations it provides leave me looking forward to the next time I can set aside an evening for this tea and some accompanying delicate enjoyment.

Steeping parameters: 3g for 200ml; 1st steep for 2mins at 70°C, 2nd steep for 3mins at 70°C.

My Steepster tealog for this tea is here.

About Devvy

Mom to a running, yelling, laughing toddler girl and a bouncing baby boy. I'm not anything even remotely close to the much-hyped "Supermom" and I don't expect that to change.

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Reviews, Tea and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you Devvy for reviewing my tea. So glad to see you enjoyed it. Happy Sipping!
    -Bingley’s teas

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 272 other followers

