Progress Report: T2 Nine Green Sampler, Part 1

The “agony of the leaves” while steeping Gunpowder

I’ve had my T2 green tea sampler for a couple of weeks now, and I’ve tried six of the nine teas now. That sounds like I’m going slowly on it, and maybe I am. I have a baby and a toddler that demand my attention, and I also don’t want to try any of the teas when I’m not feeling well (I deal with chronic migraines); I want to give each tea its fullest opportunity to show off to me. So I am truly taking my time when I make my first cup or pot of each of the teas, getting the full experience of the dry leaves, the aromas, colors and tastes. It’s been really enlightening and completely enjoyable. I’ve kept The Tea Drinker’s Handbook by my side as both a means of educating my palate and testing my senses.

I decided to try the unflavored teas first so I could get a true feeling of what flavors I’d be encountering (and also to stay in my tradition of saving the best for last: in this case, teas I was more likely to enjoy). So here are my thoughts thus far, in the order I have tried them. I’ll start with the first three today.

Young Hyson: T2 calls this an all-rounder and good for drinking throughout the day. I’d have to agree. It has no tastes or aromas that sound at first unappealing to a new green tea drinker (I’m talking to you, marine and gamy aromas). It was also my first recognition of what astringency really was: a dry or powdery feeling in your mouth, particularly on the sides of the tongue. Astringency at first sounded like something I would rather avoid, but it actually kind of gave a fresh feeling in my mouth.
Sencha: The typical Japanese tea taught me that maybe those marine aromas in tea weren’t so bad after all. In fact, they could be quite pleasing when paired with the other sensations in the cup. I could see myself drinking this quite happily alongside a big bowl of stir-fried noodles.
Gunpowder: Because of what I’d read, I really wasn’t expecting to want to drink much of this past the first small cup. Learning that it is often made with mediocre leaves, I waited until I had received my glass gaiwan in the mail so I could at least get some visual enjoyment out of it. But I needn’t have worried. Besides the pleasure of seeing the little pellets (hence the name) unfurl in the water to reveal mostly whole leaves, this proved to be a good, sturdy drop.

So far, I’ve been very pleasantly surprised; I wasn’t sure that I’d actually like green tea enough to consider it a mid afternoon treat, but instead I look forward to more. The flavored greens are coming up, but these “straight” teas have been very welcome eye-openers.

About Devvy

Mom to a running, yelling, laughing toddler girl and a bouncing baby boy. I'm not anything even remotely close to the much-hyped "Supermom" and I don't expect that to change.

Posted on August 7, 2012, in Reviews, Tea and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

