Progress Report: T2 Nine Green Sampler, Part 2

My sweet little White Lotus gaiwan from Yunnan Sourcing and Alison Appleton Golden Carp teacup from T2 with steeped China Jasmine

This post is the second of my taste testing through the T2 green sampler I got for my birthday. The original review of the pack (truly a first impression, before any tasting) is here. So here are teas four to six as I’ve tasted them.

China Jasmine: I tried this in preparation for the Jasmine Pearls I ordered from Yunnan Sourcing and Teavivre. It really was a lovely scent that still had more going on than just a massive floral attack on the nose. A couple days later when suffering through a migraine, I still had a craving for a green tea moment and chose to have this one again. It required nothing more of me than to sit and relax. Quite friendly, that.
Genmaicha Sencha: This has been the clear winner for me so far. The instant I poured the water over the leaves and into the pot came the incredible scent of roasted grains from the roasted and puffed rice in the tea. I didn’t even have time to close the lid first! When I poured the tea I was amazed by how light the color was, palest green and crystal-like. Drinking it took me back many years when I spent a summer in South Korea. That was the first time I had green tea, and the roasted cereal aroma and taste are what I remember, but this is really pumping up the volume. This would go perfectly with almost any Asian meal, but would also be just as great when you really want a snack but want to keep it light. Can’t get much lighter than a cup of tea!
Sencha Vanilla: I would have tried the Marrakesh (minty gunpowder) first, but Matt was home and I could make a larger amount of this knowing he would want some. I was amazed at how well the Sencha aromas of straw, cooked greens, and seaweed mingled and played with the vanilla. Pleasant and gentle, we both enjoyed the break it provided.

I’m working through the remaining three teas in this pack, all rather highly flavored. Though “working through” makes it sound harder and much less enjoyable than it is. The results of those tastings will be here soon, but right now I’ve got to get rid of a bad cold that hit me a couple of days ago. When all my senses are back, so will be the reviews!

About Devvy

Mom to a running, yelling, laughing toddler girl and a bouncing baby boy. I'm not anything even remotely close to the much-hyped "Supermom" and I don't expect that to change.

Posted on August 15, 2012, in Reviews, Tea and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

